Croatia to join Schengen but EU ministers block Bulgaria and Romania

Croatia will join the EU’s passport-free Schengen area in January after EU home affairs ministers approved their application on Thursday (8 December) but again blocked applications by Bulgaria and Romania. Austria blocked both Bulgaria and Romania’s applications while the Netherlands opposed Romania’s Schengen bid but approved Romania’s. This means that only Croatia will join Schengen […]